Tantoklafset Day 2 @Tantolunden Stockholm 090612

Credit: Tantoklafset

Tantoklafset Day 1 was great and so much fun and I was hoping the same for Day 2. But oh dear, I didn’t realize that I was just about to witness even greater performances by Swedish artists with a variety of musical talents. Although I hated to miss some of the first acts, the rest of the performers really wowed me with their beautiful voices, unique sounds, and true awesome songs! The fact that the sun seemed to hide behind the clouds and the temperature was low enough to force me to wear layers of cloths did not ruin my mood when I got to the venue just in time to catch Natten. The quartet brought forward instrumental music pieces that they called “psykonautdisko” and clearly, it hypnotized me. It is not a kind of disco that makes you crazily dance, but it rather lets you drown in it, sway and feel every note and left you cringe in the end. Trust me, it’s that good.

After the brilliant Natten, a sweet looking girl with a wonderful voice named Linn Öberg brought along her guitar and sung pretty good folk/pop songs. Tantoklafset was getting intense with a high-energy performance by Musikkollektivet. With two main singers and six musicians on stage all bare feet and wore rolled up shirts and trousers, Musikkollektivet gave free-spirited good times and rich yet harmonious sound. They were indeed really fun to watch. Another female solo artist to perform that day after Musikkollektivet got off stage was Antonia Vai, who has not only gorgeous looks but also exceptional singing. RMK, Toppen & Kompaniett were the following collective acts who, similar to Musikkollektivet, put forward harmony along with an expression of delight which were reflected in the music as well as in the performance.

And then it was time for the last two most anticipated bands that I genuinely love. I am not gonna lie that my level of excitement at that moment was in its peak because I was just literally couldn’t stand still to see Sidewalk for the first time ever and The Fix as the best unsigned band I know. For the last couple of months, I’ve been their huge fans. So, to see them play in one event was really a total treat for me. Without further ado, Sidewalk smashed Tantoklafset with their latest single and hit Don’t Go (video). It was unexpected since I didn’t think that they would open their set with that song. However, I have some revelation after only that first few minutes of their performance. Verner Westlund’s voice and singing is world-class and breathtaking. Patrick Ray’s rapping is charming and Daniel Lastword is the coolest and most vigorous Dj I’ve seen. I was simply in awe and couldn’t be more grateful. Their concept of ‘Scandinavian hippie-rap’ is unbelievably captivating and full of charisma. Let’s just hope that it was not the last chance for me to see them live.

After being star-struck by Sidewalk’s presence, The Fix’s closing performance left me utterly speechless. Why? THEY HAD THE FRICKIN’ CONFETTI AND FOUR MASSIVE BALLOONS as part of their astounding show. What else? Johan, the forever-wild-and-highly-amusing vocalist, handed out free cans of beers with their name sprayed on it during the songs. Want more? They performed not one, but TWO amazing brand new songs, one of which I luckily managed to record for you to enjoy here. The Fix just simply killed it. They successfully drew together more unexpected festival attendees which would only mean that they gained a bunch of new fans. And finally, many kudos to all of their efforts to pull off such a fantastic show and make everyone especially the festival organizer tremendously satisfied. I am happy. So people, this has been TANTOKLAFSET!

Click through the pictures below to find out more about all the artists.

PS: I got to meet the guys from Sidewalk and The Fix after Tantoklafset ended and let me tell you, they are some of the nicest people I’ve met! And oh, sorry for obvious disproportionately amount of Sidewalk and The Fix’s pictures :D

Natten

Linn Öberg

Musikkollektivet

Musikkollektivet

Antonia Vai

RMK, Toppen & Kompaniett

Sidewalk

Sidewalk

Sidewalk

Sidewalk

The Fix

The Fix

Johan chillin’ on the balloon

Erik A

Johan helping Stefan hitting the cymbals

Stefan Bergman

The Fix

Johan Falkman

Johan documenting the crowd

all over the stage including the railings

About Ear to Ears

From Indonesia to Sweden.... and to the whole world.
This entry was posted in Gig Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

